Illinois CPA Society Honors Accounting Professionals and Educators

The Illinois CPA Society recently honored several award recipients at its annual Leadership Recognition Dinner on June 7 in Chicago. Honorees were recognized for their dedication to the profession and nominated by peers, colleagues and others. The following professionals and educators from across Illinois received awards:

Timm Bellazzini, Partner with Sikich LLP in Naperville, IL received the 2017 Young Professional Leadership Award. Bellazzini was recognized for demonstrating outstanding leadership skills in his career in public or community service and through his involvement with the society.

Marques Fisher, Assurance Manager with PwC LLP in Chicago, received 2017 the Lester H. McKeever Jr. Emerging Leader in Advancing Diversity Award. Fisher was recognized for his leadership and commitment to fostering a culture of diversity within his profession.

The accounting firm of Wipfli LLP, with multiple offices in Illinois, was honored with the 2017 Time and Talent Public Service Volunteerism Award. More than a hundred Wipfli staff members packaged meals for area families in need during last year’s Illinois CPA Society Day of Service event.

Stella Marie B. Santos, Managing Partner and co-founder of Adelfia LLC, a public accounting firm in Chicago received the 2017 Lester H. McKeever Jr. Outstanding Leader in Advancing Diversity Award. Santos was also recognized for her leadership and commitment to fostering a culture of diversity within her profession.

Julia Shapland, Lecturer of Accounting at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Dr. Gregory Tapis, Assistant Professor at Augustana College in Rock Island and Everett Westmeyer, instructor at Kishwaukee College in Malta each received the Illinois CPA Society’s 2017 Outstanding Educator Award. Education honorees were recognized for significant contributions to accounting education in Illinois through leadership, teaching excellence and active involvement in the accounting profession.

The Society’s 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Mary Ann Webb, Managing Partner and co-founder at Sulaski and Webb CPAs in Bloomington, IL. Webb was recognized for demonstrating distinguished service to the Illinois CPA Society and the CPA profession throughout her career.

Webb is a dedicated member of her community. Her volunteer efforts include being involved with The Children’s Foundation, Bloomington Rotary Club, as well as the McLean County Chamber of Commerce, United Way and YWCA. She currently serves as a Board Member of the Bloomington Public Library Foundation, the Bloomington Rotary Foundation, and is the vice-chair of the Chestnut Health Systems board of directors.

She also is an alumna of Illinois State University, has served as President of the Redbird Club and has been a member of ISU’s Accounting Advisory Board since 1991. She currently serves on the ISU Foundation board.

About the Illinois CPA Society

The Illinois CPA Society, with more than 24,500 members, is one of the largest state CPA societies in the nation. Our mission is dedicated to enhancing the value of the CPA profession through the strategic initiatives of advocacy, information, education and connections.