National Association of State Treasurers Announces 2018 Leadership

Vermont State Treasurer Beth Pearce, incoming President of the National Association of State Treasurers (NAST), announced today the association’s 2018 leadership roster, which includes the appointment of nine state treasurers to NAST Committee Chair positions and six state treasurers to NAST Committee Vice Chair positions. The state treasurers will serve a one-year term beginning on January 1, 2018.

“The state treasurers appointed to NAST’s 2018 leadership positions have demonstrated a deep understanding of the financial issues impacting state and local governments across the country," said Treasurer Pearce. “I would like to thank Oklahoma State Treasurer Ken Miller for his outstanding leadership as NAST’s 2017 president, and I look forward to working with him and NAST’s new Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs to advance our policy priorities on Capitol Hill during the year ahead."

The following state treasurers will serve as NAST’s 2018 Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs:

ABLE Committee


Co-Chair, Michael Frerichs, Illinois Treasurer

Co-Chair, Eric Schmitt, Missouri Treasurer

Banking and Cash Management Committee

Chair, Steve McCoy, Georgia Treasurer

Vice Chair, Joe Torsella, Pennsylvania Treasurer

Financial Education & Empowerment Committee

Chair, Tobias Read, Oregon Treasurer

Vice Chair, Kelly Mitchell, Indiana Treasurer

Legislative Committee

Chair, Manju Ganeriwala, Virginia Treasurer

Vice Chair, Don Stenberg, Nebraska Treasurer

Long Range Planning Committee

Chair, Ken Miller, Oklahoma Treasurer

Vice Chair, Deb Goldberg, Massachusetts Treasurer

Pensions & Trust Investment Committee

Chair, Michael Fitzgerald, Iowa Treasurer

Vice Chair, Pamela Leary, Alaska Treasurer

Program Committee

Chair, David Damschen, Utah Treasurer

Taxation Committee

Chair, Myron Frans, Minnesota Commissioner

Vice Chair, Glenn Hegar, Texas Comptroller


State treasurers are appointed to Committee Chair and Vice Chair positions based on their policy background and expertise. In their role, the incoming group of Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs will help shape NAST’s 2018 legislative priorities and platforms and will work closely with NAST’s new Executive Committee.


NAST elected its Executive Committee Members during the association’s annual conference in Boston in September. The 2018 Executive Committee Members include:



Beth Pearce, Vermont Treasurer

Senior Vice President

David Damschen, Utah Treasurer


Deb Goldberg, Massachusetts Treasurer

Immediate Past President

Ken Miller, Oklahoma Treasurer

Eastern Vice President

Seth Magaziner, Rhode Island Treasurer

Midwestern Vice President

Don Stenberg, Nebraska Treasurer

Southern Vice President

Curtis Loftis, South Carolina Treasurer

Western Vice President

Duane Davidson, Washington Treasurer


To learn more about NAST’s committees and federal policy positions, click here.




About NAST

The National Association of State Treasurers seeks to provide advocacy and support that enables member states to pursue and administer sound financial policies and programs benefiting the citizens of the nation. Membership is composed of all state treasurers or state finance officials with comparable responsibilities from the United States, its commonwealths, territories, and the District of Columbia. The private sector is represented through the Corporate Affiliate Program that was established to build professional relationships and foster cooperation between the public and private sectors. The association serves its members through educational conferences and webinars, a variety of working groups, policy advocacy and publications that provide information about developments in public finance.


NASTContacts | Modify Your Subscription | Unsubscribe Now